An injection may one day be able to reverse atherosclerosis, according to emerging research presented at the American Heart Association’s Vascular Discovery: From Genes to Medicine Scientific Sessions 2018, a premier global exchange of the latest advances in vascular biology for researchers and clinicians.

Halena Gazelka, M.D., chair, Mayo Clinic Opioid Stewardship Program, has been appointed by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Alex Azar to serve on the newly established Pain Management Best Practices Inter-Agency Task Force. Established by the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act of 2016, the task force will identify inconsistencies in pain management best practices among federal agencies and propose solutions to resolve these inconsistencies.

Mayo Clinic’s Todd and Karen Wanek Family Program for Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome and Children’s Hospital Colorado are collaborating to provide solutions for patients with hypoplastic left heart syndrome, a rare and complex form of congenital heart disease in which the left side of the heart is severely underdeveloped.

Mayo Clinic continues its move to a single, integrated electronic health record and billing system with the implementation of Epic at its Rochester campus.

Mark A. Atkinson, PhD, has been selected to receive the American Diabetes Association’s® (ADA’s) 2018 Albert Renold Award. This award recognizes an individual whose career is distinguished by outstanding achievements in the training and mentorship of diabetes research scientists and in the facilitation of diabetes research. Dr. Atkinson will be recognized with this honor during the ADA’s 78th Scientific Sessions, June 22-26, 2018, at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando.

The Partnership for Public Service has announced its nominees for the 2018 Service to America Medals, known as the “Sammies.” CDC has three finalists for these prestigious public health awards that recognize the talents and achievements of federal employees. The CDC finalists are Drs. Marshalyn Yeargin-Allsopp (developmental disabilities), Margaret (Peggy) Honein (Zika), and John Sammarco (mine safety).